Link's Awakening

Home > Link's Awakening

The Legend of Zelda: Link's Awakening is the fourth game in the series. It was developed by Nintendo Entertainment Analysis and Development and published by Nintendo for the Game Boy. It was released on Jun6, 1993 in Japan, August 6, 1993 in North America, and December 1, 1993 in Europe. It was later released in color and renamed as Link's Awakening DX.

This game is one of the few Zelda games that do not take place in Hyrule, have the Triforce, or Ganon. You begin the game stranded on Koholint Island. You learn that the island is watched over by the Wind Fish and you must find eight musical instruments to wake up the Wind Fish and if you cannot wake it up, Link will be trapped on Koholint Island forever.

Link's Awakening was a commercial success on release. The critics loved the number of features and the depth of the game. The only complaints, really, was the limited two-button control scheme for using items. The remake was released for the Game Boy Color in 1998. The remake also received higher scores then the original. As a whole, both versions have sold more then 6 millions units worldwide.

Currently the game has been released on the following formats: GB (1993), GBC (1998 (DX)), eShop (2011 (DX)), and Switch (2019)

Abbreviation: LA

Link's Awakening Guides

The pages below contain information and guides for Link's Awakening.

Content from the Concealed Gaming Network